Blaze Basketball Players Shine

February 25, 2022

Current and former Blaze Basketball players had another great year at multiple levels on the hardwood. In high school, three athletes earned Player of the Year for their district and two surpassed the 1,000 point scoring mark, while one became the all-time leading scoring in the history of Virginia high school basketball. On the college level in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference, one alumni was named first-team and another tied the all-time 3-point record for a playoff game. Here is a list of some players and their accolades:

Bull Run District POY:

            Tyler Nickel (East Rockingham HS, VHSL all-time scoring leader, North Carolina University commit)

Valley District POY:                

            Carmelo Pacheco (Spotswood HS, 1,000 point scorer)

Shenandoah District POY:      

            Finn Irving (Wilson Memorial HS)

Valley District 1st Team:         

            Camryn Pacheco (Spotswood HS)

Shenandoah District 1st Team:         

           Manny Chapman (Staunton HS)

            Tyreek Veney (Fort Defiance HS)

Jefferson District 1st Team:

            Kobe Edmunds (Fluvanna HS)

Valley District 2nd Team: 

            Ben Bellamy (Spotswood HS)

Shenandoah District 2nd Team: 

            Lucas Schatz (Wilson Memorial HS)

Virginia Independent Conference 1st Team:

            Trey Gillenwater (Eastern Mennonite School, 1,000 point scorer)

Virginia Independent Conference 2nd Team:

            Adam Hatter (Eastern Mennonite School)

Notable College Players:

            Peja Brent (Virginia Wesleyan University)

            Kasey Draper (Roanoke University, All ODAC 1st team)

            Damien Fisher (Eastern Mennonite University)

            Demitri Gardner (Augusta University)

            Zach Hatter (Bridgewater College, tied all-time record for 3s in an ODAC playoff game)

            Tarelle Hayden (Pennsylvania Highlands CC)

            Nick Jones (Stevenson University)

            Kai Küper (Clarion University)

            Aviwe Mahlong (Eastern Mennonite University)

            Angel Pacheco (Apprentice School)

            Ethan Schwantes (Washington College)

            Jarvis Vaughan (Monmouth University) 

Professional League:

            Michael Truong (Saigon Heat)